RN registration · source-linked reference

RN OSCE examination statistics.

Published examination volumes, with the year, counting unit and original source kept together.

Last checked . Sources are linked beside the facts they support.

Published RN examination activity by financial year
Financial yearRN OSCE participationNCLEX-RN sittingsCounting note
2022/23 source1,489 source8,077 sourceOSCE: reported participants; repeat status not specified. NCLEX: sittings including re-sits.
2023/24 source2,333 source9,859 sourceOSCE: reported participants; repeat status not specified. NCLEX: sittings including re-sits.
2024/25 source3,300 source10,349 sourceOSCE and NCLEX both explicitly include re-sits.
2025/26 source3,633 source9,390 sourceOSCE and NCLEX both explicitly include re-sits.

Download this source-linked table as CSV →

These figures are not a pass rate

The annual reports count participation or examination sittings. They do not link an individual’s NCLEX and OSCE attempts. Do not divide the columns to estimate progression, demand or the chance of passing.

The earlier reports do not explicitly identify repeat attempts in their RN OSCE figures. The later reports do. We preserve that distinction rather than presenting a unique-candidate trend.

The newest report calls its knowledge test the RN MCQ examination held at Pearson VUE centres. The NMBA registered-nurse examinations page identifies the RN MCQ as NCLEX-RN; the table uses that name consistently.

What these public sources do not provide
Requested measurePublication statusSources checked
RN OSCE pass rateNot published in the candidate resources and annual-report sections reviewed here; no percentage is supplied.RN OSCE Candidate Handbook, 7 July 2026 · Ahpra annual report, 2025/26
Annual unique Stream B cohortNo separate annual unique-person count identified in these sources. OSCE participation is not a substitute.Ahpra annual report, 2022/23 · Ahpra annual report, 2023/24 · Ahpra annual report, 2024/25 · Ahpra annual report, 2025/26 · NMBA Self-check
Unique NCLEX candidatesNot supplied by these annual-report sitting totals, which include repeat attempts.Ahpra annual report, 2025/26

What the handbook actually says about results

The handbook describes a personal result letter, including this field: Overall OSCE result (pass or fail) (Release of results). It also describes station-level information. That statement is about an individual result, not a population pass rate.

We found no direct NMBA statement saying it never publishes pass rates. “Not published” above describes the specific public sources reviewed, not a quotation or a claim about all historical disclosures.

Scope of this compilation

RN only. Financial years, not calendar years. The source-linked table is our compilation of Ahpra’s published figures. It excludes enrolled-nurse and midwifery exams. A missing value means unavailable in the reviewed sources, not zero. The compilation does not reproduce an examination scenario, handbook passage or chart layout.

Questions about this RN OSCE guide

Is there a published RN OSCE pass rate in these sources?

No pass rate is supplied in the candidate resources and annual-report sections reviewed here. Participation totals cannot be used to calculate one.

Are OSCE participation totals unique candidates?

Not necessarily. The later annual reports explicitly include re-sits. Earlier RN OSCE participation figures do not specify repeat-attempt handling.